Stock Photo Manager - Stock photo management for stock photographers

Description

The management of stock photos can cost a lot of work and time. The photos need to be provided with titles, descriptions and keywords, partially in different languages, one stock photo agency allows only 25 keywords, others allow 50 or more keywords, some agencies pay attention to the keyword order, others do not. Each agency has its own requirements which a photographer has to consider.

The more agencies a photographer delivers the more time and efforts are necessary for the preparation of the photos. The photos have to be uploaded to all agencies. The photographer needs information about which photos are already uploaded and which are not. Which photos are accepted? Which are rejected? Which photo has been sold how often?

But that's not all. Model and property releases have to be managed and assigned to the individual photos. Statistic information is required. Every photographer who delivers photos to stock agencies knows how much work this makes. The solution for this is the Stock Photo Manager. I have developed this software in order to simplify and speed up the whole stock photo management and consequently to safe much time and work. I provide this software to all other stock photographers.

The software requires a Java runtime environment and a database for storing all data. Therefore the software runs in principle at all operating systems with an available Java runtime environment for example Windows, Linux, Unix and Mac OS. A HSQLDB database is provided but it is also possible to use MySQL (other database systems on request). Storing the data into a database has of course the advantage that the collected data can be processed and analyzed with other programs like Excel.

Features

The Stock Photo Manager offers following features at the moment:

  • The program consists of several modules which can be organized in several tabs or as separated windows (important for multi monitor operation).
  • Titles, descriptions and keywords can be managed and assigned in several languages (configurable by the user) whereas one agency gets the images with the correctly desired language.
  • Priorities can be assigned to keywords so that the keyword list of each image automatically gets a certain order. Of course this order can be manually altered if necessary.
  • Further keyword attributes determine whether a keyword should be used for a certain agency or not. This is also possible for each keyword translation.
  • All keywords are organized hierarchically in a tree so that the presentation is very clear.
  • Images which are marked for upload will be automatically uploaded to the agencies. During the upload each image gets the correct IPTC data for this certain agency e.g. language, maximum number of keywords and so on.
  • If many photos have to be uploaded to several agencies it will be also possible to distribute the images by using a web server. This is especially reasonable in the case of low upload speed because web servers have as a rule much better internet connections with higher speeds. Therefore much time can be saved during the upload process.
  • Further information is collected for each image: To which agency has the image been uploaded? When did this happen? Has the image been accepted or rejected? Of course it is also possible to search for this information.
  • Sales information is collected and can be searched for.
  • Agency data like state changes and sales information can be automatically gathered. This is done by analyzing agency emails or directly parsing the agency web pages. The program can be configured so that it looks for new information on the agency websites in certain time intervals.
  • Model and property releases can be managed and assigned to each image.
  • Several statistics can be generated for example about the agency download counts and revenues. This data can be viewed in form of charts.
  • Local data (the images) can be nearly automatically assigned to the data of the agencies. This is done by using the id assignment.
  • The whole application is localized. English and German is supplied. Further languages can be added easily.
  • It is possible to import data from DeepMeta (IStock).

Further information about the agencies which are supported

Screenshots of the Stock Photo Manager

The first screenshot shows the user interface with the most important module - the image management. All directories which are managed by the application are displayed at the left side. All images of the currently selected directory are listed in the middle. Data of the selected images can be edited at the right side.

Image management

The next screenshot shows the module image search in a separated window. Certainly it can also be arranged as tab in the main window. Generally almost all modules can be arranged as separated windows (important for multi monitor operation).

Module image search

The module ID assignment is used to automatically assign agency data (more exactly the agency ids) to the local images. This is necessary in order to correctly assign state changes (accepted, rejected) and sales information to the individual images.

Id assignment

Downloads and revenues can be displayed as pie chart over any period:

Download statistic as pie chart

The colors for the agencies in all charts can easily be changed by the user. The display of the chronological sequence of various data is also possible (here as grouped style):

Chronological sequence of profit in grouped display Further screenshots

Download of the Stock Photo Manager

You can try out the application. This version is free and completely functional without expiry date. Three agencies and 200 images can be managed with the free version. By acquiring a License you can manage more images/agencies. At the moment the documentation is available only in German but this will change soon. The English documentation is in work.

Current version: V1.6.0 from 02-23-2017 (Size about 7,5MB)

Windows:
Stock Photo Manager V1.6.0 with English documentation
Stock Photo Manager V1.6.0 with German documentation
Stock Photo Manager V1.5.19 with English documentation
Stock Photo Manager V1.5.19 with German documentation
Patch from V1.5.x to V1.5.19

Linux/Unix/Mac:
Stock Photo Manager V1.6.0 with English documentation
Stock Photo Manager V1.6.0 with German documentation
Stock Photo Manager V1.5.19 with English documentation
Stock Photo Manager V1.5.19 with German documentation
Patch from V1.5.x to V1.5.19

Download count: 1555

Change log and License terms

Help/Documentation/Tutorials

Video about the installation on Mac OS (in German)

Comments - improvement suggestions

I am very interested in feedback, comments and improvement suggestions. You can leave a message if you have comments or improvement suggestions. I am happy about every feedback.

Affiliate partner program

It also exists an affiliate partner program for the Stock Photo Manager. This offers you the possibility of participating in the license sales revenues when someone gets attention to the Stock Photo Manager by you and this person orders a license afterwards. Further information can be found at the affiliate partner program.

Stock Photo Manager - Stockfoto-Management für Stock-Fotografen

Beschreibung

Das Management von Stockfotos kann eine Menge Arbeit und Zeit kosten. Die Fotos müssen mit Titeln, Beschreibungen und Stichwörtern versehen werden, teilweise auch in unterschiedlichen Sprachen, die eine Stockfoto-Agentur erlaubt nur 25 Stichwörter, eine andere 50, bei der einen ist die Reihenfolge wichtig bei der anderen nicht. Jede Agentur hat da ihre eigenen Anforderungen, an die sich ein Fotograf jeweils halten muss.

Je mehr Agenturen ein Fotograf beliefern möchte, umso mehr Zeit und Arbeit macht die Aufbereitung der Fotos. Die Fotos müssen zu allen Agenturen hochgeladen werden. Weiter benötigt der Fotograf/die Fotografin Informationen darüber, welche Fotos überhaupt schon zu welchen Agenturen hochgeladen wurden. Welche wurden akzeptiert? Welche wurden abgelehnt? Welche haben sich wann wie oft verkauft?

Aber das ist ja noch lange nicht alles. Da müssen Model- und Property-Releases verwaltet und den einzelnen Fotos zugeordnet werden. Statistiken werden in der Regel auch benötigt. Jeder Fotograf, der sich schon einmal mit dieser Materie auseinander gesetzt hat, weiß wie viel Arbeit das alles macht. Hier kommt nun der Stock Photo Manager ins Spiel. Ich habe diese Software entwickelt, um das ganze Stockfoto-Handling zu vereinfachen und zu beschleunigen und um damit eine Menge Zeit und Arbeit zu sparen. Diese Software möchte ich hiermit auch anderen Stock-Fotografen und Fotografinnen zur Verfügung stellen.

Die Software benötigt zum Betrieb eine Java-Laufzeitumgebung, sowie eine Datenbank in der sämtliche Daten gespeichert werden. Somit ist das Programm prinzipiell auf allen Betriebssystemen lauffähig, für die es eine Java-Laufzeitumgebung gibt, also z.B. Windows, Linux, Unix und Mac. Eine HSQLDB-Datenbank wird mitgeliefert, aber es kann z.B. auch MySQL verwendet werden (weitere Datenbanken auf Anfrage). Die Speicherung in einer Datenbank hat natürlich den Vorteil, dass die gesammelten Daten auch mit anderen Programmen wie z.B. Excel weiter verarbeitet und ausgewertet werden können.

Merkmale

Der Stock Photo Manager bietet zur Zeit folgende Features:

  • Das Programm besteht aus verschiedenen Modulen, die sowohl als Karteireiter als auch in eigenen Fenstern angeordnet werden können (wichtig für den Mehr-Monitor-Betrieb).
  • Titel, Beschreibungen und Stichwörter können in mehreren Sprachen (vom Anwender konfigurierbar) verwaltet werden, wobei eine bestimmte Agentur immer ein Bild mit den Daten in der von ihr gewünschten Sprache bekommt.
  • Stichwörter können mit Prioritäten versehen werden, so dass die Stichwortliste eines Fotos automatisch eine bestimmte Reihenfolge erhält. Diese kann anschließend manuell verändert werden, wenn dies erforderlich sein sollte.
  • Zu jedem Stichwort (und sogar zu jeder einzelnen Übersetzung) kann festgelegt werden, ob dieses bei einer bestimmten Agentur verwendet werden soll.
  • Die Stichwörter werden vom Programm hierarchisch in Form eines Baumes verwaltet, so dass diese sehr übersichtlich dargestellt werden können.
  • Zum Upload markierte Fotos werden vollautomatisch zu den Agenturen hochgeladen. Dabei bekommt jede Agentur das Foto mit den für sie eingestellten IPTC-Daten, also Sprache, maximale Anzahl der Stichwörter usw.
  • Sollen sehr viele Fotos zu verschiedenen Agenturen hochgeladen werden, so ist es auch möglich, die Verteilung über einen Webserver vornehmen zu lassen. Das bringt gerade bei langsamen Upload-Geschwindigkeiten erhebliche Zeitvorteile.
  • Zu jedem Bild werden weitere Informationen erfasst: Zu welcher Agentur wurde es wann hochgeladen, wurde es akzeptiert oder abgelehnt? Nach diesen Informationen kann auch gesucht werden.
  • Verkäufe werden erfasst und können durchsucht werden.
  • Daten von Agenturen wie Statusänderungen und Verkäufe können vollautomatisch ermittelt werden, entweder durch das Parsen von Agentur-Emails oder direkt von den Webseiten der Agenturen. Das Programm kann dabei so konfiguriert werden, dass in bestimmten Zeitabständen überprüft wird, ob neue Informationen auf den Webseiten vorliegen.
  • Model- und Property-Releases können verwaltet und den einzelnen Fotos zugeordnet werden.
  • Diverse Statistiken können erstellt werden, z.B. über die Downloads und Einnahmen bei den Agenturen. Das ganze auch in Form von Diagrammen.
  • Lokale Daten (also die vorliegenden Fotos) werden (fast) vollautomatisch mit den Daten der Agenturen verknüpft, Stichwort ID-Zuordnung.
  • Die gesamte Anwendung ist lokalisiert, wobei Deutsch und Englisch als Sprachen mitgeliefert werden. Weitere Sprachen/Regionen lassen sich problemlos hinzufügen.
  • Daten können direkt aus DeepMeta importiert werden.

Weitere Informationen zu den unterstützten Bild-Agenturen.

Screenshots des Stock Photo Managers

Der erste Screenshot zeigt die Oberfläche mit dem wichtigsten Modul - der Bildverwaltung. Auf der linken Seite werden sämtliche Verzeichnisse dargestellt, die vom Programm verwaltet werden. In der Mitte werden die Fotos des aktuell ausgewählten Verzeichnisses aufgelistet. Im rechten Bereich können die Daten der ausgewählten Fotos bearbeitet werden.

Bilder-Verwaltung

Der nächste Screenshot zeigt das Modul Bildsuche in einem eigenen Fenster. Es kann natürlich auch als Karteireiter innerhalb des Hauptfensters angeordnet werden. Generell können fast alle Module entweder innerhalb des Hauptfensters oder als eigenständiges Fenster angeordnet werden (wichtig für den Mehr-Monitorbetrieb).

Modul Bildsuche

Das Modul ID-Zuordnung dient zur automatischen Zuordnung von Agentur-Daten (genauer gesagt der Agentur-ID) zu den lokalen Fotos. Das ist wichtig, damit z.B. Statusänderungen (akzeptiert, abgelehnt) und Verkaufsinformationen korrekt den einzelnen Fotos zugeordnet werden können.

ID-Zuordnung

Downloads und Einnahmen können über beliebige Zeiträume als Torten-Diagramm dargestellt werden:

Download-Statistik als Torten-Diagramm

Die Farben für die Agenturen in allen Diagrammen können dabei sehr einfach vom Anwender angepasst werden. Die Darstellung eines zeitlichen Verlaufs diverser Daten ist ebenfalls möglich (hier in der gruppierten Variante):

Zeitlicher Verlauf der Einnahmen in gruppierter Darstellung Weitere Screenshots

Download des Stock Photo Managers

Sie können das Programm gerne selbst ausprobieren. Die hier angebotene freie Version ist komplett funktionsfähig und ist zeitlich unbeschränkt lauffähig. Es können hiermit maximal drei Agenturen und 200 Fotos verwaltet werden. Durch den Erwerb einer Lizenz können Sie mehr Fotos und/oder mehr Agenturen verwalten.

Aktuelle Version: V1.5.17 vom 13.05.2016 (Größe ca. 7,3MB)

Windows:
Stock Photo Manager V1.5.17 mit deutscher Dokumentation
Stock Photo Manager V1.5.17 mit englischer Dokumentation
Patch von V1.5.x auf V1.5.17

Linux/Unix/Mac:
Stock Photo Manager V1.5.17 mit deutscher Dokumentation
Stock Photo Manager V1.5.17 mit englischer Dokumentation
Patch von V1.5.x auf V1.5.17

Anzahl der Downloads bisher: 1121

Änderungsdokumentation und Lizenzbedingungen

Hilfe/Anleitung/Tutorials

Video über die Einrichtung unter Mac OS

Kommentare - Verbesserungsvorschläge

Ich bin sehr an Rückmeldungen, Kommentaren und Verbesserungsvorschlägen interessiert. Sie können mir also gerne eine Nachricht zukommen lassen, wenn Sie Anmerkungen oder Verbesserungsvorschläge haben oder Fehler im Programm finden. Ich freue mich über jede Rückmeldung.